What’s new around here

So, I told you my life has been pretty crazy and now I will elaborate.. There was a small problem regarding money with my (old) roommates so they said I could stay and do what they wanted or I could move out. I chose the latter of the 2. (the discussion wasn’t that easy or that nice.) This all went down on a Thursday and I was out of there on Saturday. I packed up my entire room/Cali life in that house and headed over to Alex’s. I am currently staying with Alex and Tom. Thank God they just moved in to a huge room with their own huge bathroom. It’s a comfortable fit for the 3 of us.
It was a very stressful few days moving out. I had to sell furniture, move furniture, clean, pack and physically get everything from my old house to Alex’s; I had to work night shift Thursday and Friday too, so I barely got any sleep. It was pretty stressful and we were both on edge. But, Alex was such a huge help and I am so thankful for that! Once I was finally out and settled in to Alex’s a huge weight was lifted off my shoulders and I felt much happier.

At the end of the week Alex and I had some time off together and we were ready to have fun after the stressful start to the week. I surprised Alex with Mumford & Sons tickets as an early birthday present, he was pumped! The concert was about an hour away from LA so we got a hotel. We started at a Mexican restaurant with lunch and some drinks, then we had a few drinks in my car. Don’t worry, I didn’t drive. Our hotel room wasn’t ready so we had no other option. The concert was at an awesome outdoor venue. I have been dying to go to a concert so this was perfect!

20130609-181528.jpg

 

20130609-181551.jpg

Outdoor concerts are soo much better, I don’t really care for indoor concerts. And nothing welcomes summer like day drinking and a concert under the stars. We found an awesome spot on the lawn and had to wait a few hours before they actually played. The venue had terrible reviews on yelp but It was actually really nice. The reviews could not have been more wrong. (I don’t trust those yelp reviewers. I feel like most times they have nothing better to do than to get online and complain about something.)

20130609-181605.jpg

Anyway, the second biggest highlight of the evening was getting zebra popcorn. It is caramel popcorn drizzled with chocolate and white chocolate. It was heaven in food form, seriously you must try it. I will definitely be ordering some from their website, I don’t care how expensive!

20130609-181622.jpg

Mumford and Sons were awesome. I really didn’t know too many of their songs but I loved it regardless. You know it’s a good band/concert when it’s your first time hearing their songs and you love them and still wanna jam out! The only disappointment was at the end of the concert. They came back for an encore and played two realllly slow (and depressing) songs. We were a little angry that they chose such terrible songs to end the concert with.

20130609-181644.jpg

 

 

20130609-181651.jpg

20130609-181705.jpg

We had our first official margarita Monday of summer the day after the concert. We started at Alex’s and then headed out in Hermosa for our friend Caleb’s birthday. It was a fun little day.

On Tuesday, Alex and I went to 6 Flags!!

20130609-181727.jpg

I’ve been wanting to go since I moved out here and was so glad to finally make it happen. There were soo many roller coasters that I have never experienced before! On X2 you’re laying down and the individual cars do 360’s throughout the roller coaster ride! Imagine a combination of the zipper and a roller coaster. Easily the scariest roller coaster I have ever been on in my life. Green Lantern reminds me of a vertical wild mouse. On this one, your car also flips but the track is pretty small and it’s a short ride, but fast and most definitely thrilling! The Riddlers revenge is a stand up coaster and tatsu is a lay down on your stomach coaster. Lastly, superman sent you flying backwards at 100 mph on a straight up and down track. Those were all the new types of coasters for me but they had about 10 in total and it was such a fun day! I love amusement parks so much and it was something Alex and I had never done together. We felt like kids again, we had such a happy day!

20130609-181714.jpg

The last thing we did was get on the drop of doom, which is supposedly the tallest drop ride in the world. It was a 400 ft drop at 85 miles an hour. I do NOT like drop rides but let Alex convince me to get on. The sun was setting and it was actually a nice view and the drop was really fun! We were too busy and having too much fun to take many pictures! You should check out youtube for some videos of the crazy coasters here! And of course, you must always end a day at an amusement park with ice cream!

20130609-181733.jpg

 

 

GUESS WHAT?! I’ll be home in 11 days!!! and Cruising the Caribbean in exactly 2 weeks!

 

Gotta go, it’s family dinner night and I’m making the boys fish tacos! (if they turn out, I’ll share the recipe.)

 

Hope everyone had an awesome weekend!

1 thought on “What’s new around here

Leave a comment