Memorial Day weekend

Ok.. so my life has been seriously crazy for the last week! You wouldn’t believe it, but those details to come. I think I left off before my weekend in San Diego. My sorority sister, Denise lives there and my other sorority sister, Christine drove from Tucson for the weekend. I was super pumped to have a girls weekend! The serious lack of girlfriends out here has me really bummed out sometimes. That weekend was beyond necessary. I worked on Friday night so I didn’t leave my house til about 4:00 in the afternoon and got to San Diego at about 6:30ish. There was a little bit of traffic so it took longer than expected.

20130606-235638.jpg

When I arrived in the city I fell in love pretty quick. I have been to SD once before but we visited all the beach towns. Denise and her BF live in the gaslamp district in the city. The gaslamp district is a young scene with a ton of bars and restaurants. The city is a pretty small city so it isn’t like LA. It is really clean and nice. It also seemed really safe. We stayed at Denise’s boyfriends house and he had such an awesome apartment/condo! You could see the baseball stadium right off his balcony.

20130606-235652.jpg

When I got there we had a few drinks and were highly entertained by the people staying in the hard rock hotel which is directly across the street from his condo. People were walking around naked, flashing people in the building we were in, and doing naughty adult things in their room. I couldn’t beieve how many people don’t close their curtains in a hotel room!! They were facing an entire building of people for God’s sake!!

20130606-235703.jpg

After we were done cracking up at the free entertainment, we decided to go to a sports bar and restaurant. I had one thing on my mind: STEAK. haha and it was awesome! I cleaned my plate. I then realized that it has been forever since I have had a good steak dinner. That is one thing that I really don’t cook for myself while I live alone. But, I think I should start doing it more often. I always think steak is too expensive, however I paid way more at this restaurant than I would at any grocery store. Anyway, back to dinner. I tried an awesome cocktail, whipped vodka with sprite and muddled cucumbers! YUMMY! We caught up and did some girly chit chatting. I felt bad for Justin, he was definitely the 4th wheel. He also said he probably would have hated us in college haha. That made me laugh. After dinner we headed to one of the clubs right by his place. We only had one drink cause we were pretty exhausted and knew we had a long day ahead of us on Sunday.

Sunday we had plans to go to a memorial day pool party at a place called intervention at the hard rock hotel. I have never been to Vegas, but this pool party was compared to a vegas pool party. (maybe a place called rehab?) Before we started drinking, we grabbed breakfast at a place right down the street from Justin’s place. I recreated the omelette I got before Disney, cause it was pretty much the best omelette toppings I’ve ever had. Mushrooms, onions, peppers, bacon and cheese! I also had to get a donut, and it was definitely the best donut I’ve ever had.

Intervention was conveniently located directly across the street. After our stomachs settled from breakfast, we started to pregame at about 12. Let’s just say Christine and I haven’t lost our ability to drink since our college days. haha. The pool party was definitely crazy. Lots of girls in bikinis and high heels, guido guys and some crazy loud house music, complete with drinks for $8/piece. It was a different experience but I’m really glad I got to do something like that. Keep in mind, the craziest pool party I’ve been to before this was prob Holiday Inn pool bar in OC haha and most of us know that scene is just a little bit different. Christine and I left a little bit earlier than Denise, cause let’s face it, one of the best things about day drinking is you get to go to sleep early!

20130606-235717.jpg

20130606-235739.jpg

Our time together flew by but every minute was such a blast! We laughed so hard and I don’t think I could express enough how much I needed that girl time. Christine and I both headed home early on Monday and I was sad to say goodbye. But I can’t wait to get back down that way. I love SD! and more importantly, I love my sorority sisters! I am so glad I have some this close to me on the west coast, who would have ever thought?!

Happy Friday, everyone! Hope you have a great weekend. šŸ™‚

Leave a comment